Posted in:Practice

How Do I Start Chakra Meditation?


Starting any kind of mediation practice can be daunting. You’ve probably heard a lot about the benefits of meditating, but you’re unsure just how to go about it. While there are many types of meditation, it’s often helpful for beginners to start with something that has clear steps to follow. Bringing your attention to each chakra in turn, as described below, can be a helpful method.

Understand Your Chakras

The chakras are a system of the subtle body, which means they are not strictly anatomical. Instead, they are thought to control the flow of energy (also called prana) through your body. Ideally, energy moves unimpeded from the base of your spine to the crown of your head but sometimes it gets stuck along the way. Visualizing the chakras helps identify where you are blocked and begin the process of getting things flowing. 

Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit, so they are often shown as spinning wheels of energy. Each of the seven chakras is associated with an area of the body, a colour, and a seed syllable that can be used for mantra chanting.

  1. Muladhara - Root (base of the spine)

Colour: Red

Mantra: Lam

Associated with: Feeling grounded and stable

  1. Svadhistana - Sacral (lower abdomen)

Colour: Orange.

Mantra: Vam

Associated with: Creativity, intimacy, fertility, sexuality, pleasure

  1. Manipura - Solar Plexus (mid abdomen)

Colour: Yellow

Mantra: Ram

Associated with: Confidence and power

  1. Anahata - Heart

Colour: Green

Mantra: Yam

Associated with: Love and trust

  1. Vishuddha - Throat

Colour: Blue

Mantra: Ham

Associated with: Self-expression, truth, communication

  1. Ajna - Third Eye (forehead)

Colour: Indigo

Mantra: Om

Associated with: Intuition, seeing things clearly 

  1. Sahasrara - Crown (top of the head)

Colour: Purple

Mantra: Silence

Associated with: Wisdom and knowledge 

How to Know Which Chakra is Blocked

There’s no foolproof way to diagnose a blocked chakra but there are a few methods you can use as a starting place.

  1. Pain or discomfort in your body

A pain in your abdomen or headaches, for instance, could guide you.

  1. Difficulty in an associated area

If you are struggling with confidence, creativity, or speaking up, identify the corresponding chakra and focus on that.

  1. Work the whole system

If you’re not sure, give equal attention to each chakra. You may discover specific areas to home in on along the way.

Chakra Meditation Methodology

-      Visualize each chakra as a spinning wheel, a lotus flower, a bright light, or anything else that works for you.

-      Move from the bottom of your spine upwards to the top of your head.

-      Picture the chakra in its designated colour and repeat the associated mantra either out loud or in your mind.

-      Imagine energy flowing freely through the chakra as you breathe.

Chakra Meditation Step-by-Step 

Find a quiet place and a comfortable seat. If you are new to meditation, check out our beginners' guide for more info on how and when to sit. For chakra meditation, a cross-legged or kneeling position works. If you’re cross-legged, sit up on a block or bolster so that your knees are below your hips. This makes it easier to keep your spine long. 

Sit and breathe for a few minutes to ground into your body. Start by noticing your breath without changing it. Then begin to purposefully lengthen and deepen your inhale and exhales.

  1. Muladhara - Root

Continuing your deep breaths, bring your attention to the base of your spine. Visualize a red wheel of energy there. Chant the syllable ‘lam’ on each exhalation for a minute or two, or longer if you choose.

  1. Svadhistana - Sacral

Bring your hands to your belly below your navel. This is the location of the sacral chakra. Picture a spinning orange wheel there as you chant ‘vam’.

  1. Manipura - Solar Plexus

Move your hands to your abdomen above your navel. Visualize a yellow wheel spinning at your solar plexus. Chant the syllable ‘ram’.

  1. Anahata - Heart

Bring both palms flat on your sternum. Feel your chest rise and fall with each breath. The colour of the Anahata chakra is green and the syllable is ‘yam’.

  1. Vishuddha – Throat

Take your hands into Anjali Mudra at your throat. Feel the vibrations there as you chant ‘ham’ and visualize blue.

  1. Ajna - Third Eye

Move your mudra to the centre of your forehead. Chant ‘om’ and picture an indigo wheel or lotus flowing with energy.

  1. Sahasrara - Crown

Take Anjali Mudra to the top of your head with your fingers pointing upwards as you picture purple light and breathe deeply without chanting.

Open Your Mind

 Any system that gives structure to a new meditation practice makes it easier to stay engaged and consistent. Anchoring your attention to your chakras through touch, visualization and breath are powerful tools to move energy and clear your mind.

Go Back
  • Share on

Next Post → ← Previous Post

You may also like

10 Yoga Poses to Help You Stay Warm This Winter

When it’s chilly outside, it’s time to turn on your inner heater. These 10 yoga poses will leave you a lot warmer, plus stronger and more flexible.

8 Yoga Poses that Promote Self-Love

We hear a lot of talk about self-love but very little advice on how to achieve it. Start your journey toward acceptance with these 8 yoga poses.

How Yoga Can Help with Seasonal Depression

Seasonal Affective Disorder (formerly known as the winter blues) could be the reason you feel depressed when the days get shorter. Yoga can help.